ORGAN THING: Arthur Brown does Lucifer Sam with the help of Gong’s Steve Hillage and Deep Purple’s Ian Paice. One time Hawkwind spacemen Alan Davey and Nik Turner are in on it all…

This just in “Fans of dark and ghoulish rock & roll are all cordially invited to attend what is sure to be the biggest party of this year’s Halloween season, Monster’s Ball, the new album from the one and only God Of Hellfire and theatrical rock visionary, Arthur Brown! For his latest macabre-themed masterpiece, Brown is joined by a murderer’s row of talented co-conspirators including the album’s producers Alan Davey, who also co-wrote several of the songs, and Fernando Perdomo, all of whom have helped Brown craft one of the most energetic and thrilling albums of his long and distinguished career. From The Stooges’ guitarist James Williamson, who brings the heat on a new version of Brown’s iconic 1968 hit “Fire” to the killer collaboration with Vanilla Fudge’s Mark Stein on “Zombie Yelp,” Monster’s Ball promises to be one hell of a good time!

Today, Brown is proud to share another song from the album, the psychedelic opener to the album “Lucifer Sam,” penned by none other than Syd Barrett and featuring ripping performances by Gong guitarist Steve Hillage and Deep Purple drummer Ian Paice. Brown had this to say about the song, “As a prelude to the album launch on October 21st here’s a mysterious track by the enigmatic Syd Barrett. Fernando Perdomo’s bold production, the song’s adventurous structure, and the input of Steve Hillage and Ian Paice make this a delight of spooky fun. Shadows flickered and felines howled as I sang this portrait – Happy Halloween!”

The whole album looks rather interesting, Nik Turner features as does the late great Gilli Smyth, the full track list and line up is under the fine version of the Pink Floyd track…

  1. Lucifer Sam feat. Ian Paice & Steve Hillage
  2. Screamin’ Ball (At Dracula’s Hall) feat. Alan Davey
  3. I Feel Free feat. James Williamson & Rat Scabies
  4. Bucket O’ Blood feat. Nik Turner
  5. Zombie Yelp feat. Roye Albrighton & Mark Stein
  6. Whistlin’ Past The Graveyard feat. The Sinclairs
  7. Fire feat. James Williamson, Brian Auger & Carmine Appice
  8. The Monster Hop feat. Shuggie Otis
  9. Curse Of The Hearse
  10. Mad Witch
  11. The Vampire feat. The Coffin Daggers
  12. Late Last Night feat. Steve Hillage, Roye Albrighton, Gilli Smyth & Joel Vandroogenbroeck
  13. Karn Evil #9 feat. Jordan Rudess

More details

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s