ORGAN: Five Music Things – Jack O’ the Clock, Miguel Mendez’ latest Videodemo Session, Xiu Xiu, dystopic noise bangers Ohyun and Matt Evans, new Liars, more from jazzy Kosmische dealers Possum, Paranoid London…

Again and again and again and again, paranoid London?

Five more music things, another five? Already? Shall we do it again? You never answered the question, you never do? Poor what? who? Where’s did we put the plot? Dive? Five more pieces of earfood? Shall we do it again? Back to back to back being back to the five musical things thing and the fractured music portal yet again (and again and again) and yeah, we did say all this last week and this is a test and the weeks before and blah blah blah while the whole world window and no, we never do and the proof of the pudding and all that proof reading. It doesn’t really matter if it was a television fizzing and going off and things back then when we first heard of the Window going off and things. and like we did ask last time, does anyone bother reading the editorial? Does anyone ever actually look down the rabbit hole or is it all just method acting? Cut to the chase, there’s loads of music further down the page, well five or so pieces of music, cut to the damn chase again…

This five musical things thing is mostly about just that, five musical things that have passed by in the last few days, five sound bites, five slices of musical information along with those oh so vital vital links and signposts staring back and making that hissing noise. You do read all this right? You did read that bit about Bandcamp Friday last time? I see Bandcamp Friday is coming up again. Enough of this, cut the crap you say, I know, on with the music, here comes whatever we have for you this time around, the low spark of high rise whatever… Let the music do the talking, here’s some Stuff and stuff

A Flower?

1: Possum – We did already post something from Possum‘s second album Lunar Gardens back in April, the album will be released via Ideé Fixe Records on July 2nd so shouted the press release at the time. Here’s a second track, it sounds even better than the first, here’s the link for more,. Possum, like Max Webster before them, are from Canada, here’s that second track. They sound like they have an Amon Düül thing going dow, they sound like they have a time machine, they’re “Canadian jazzy Kosmische dealers and collective cortex explorers” so the e.mail that just came in trumpets…

2: Jack O’ the Clock – “One of the most original and compelling groups I know, playing some amazing compositions that seem to tread effortlessly between Van Dyke Parks and folk music from an as-yet-unidentified culture, while making all the things you’ve always thought of as difficult sound as effortless and natural as breathing… Amazing production. Extraordinary compositions. You need to hear it.”   – Fred Frith

Well if Fred says so then ears need to be pointed at it, “Jack O’ the Clock‘s Leaving California is a highly-detailed musical adventure that reveals new layers with repeated listens, from the opening strums of “Jubilation,” which introduces the record with whimsical folksy fanfare, to the angular harmonized violin lead on the closing track, “Narrow Gate.” Throughout, the songs of bandleader Damon Waitkus recall artists such as David Sylvian, Fairport Convention, and Elliott Smith, while creative musical arrangements showcase the band’s high-level compositional and instrumental chops. Upon first listen, Leaving California offers plenty of hooks, but this is music that truly reveals its depth upon the scrutiny of repeated spins….” so read the press release, so far all we’ve heard is this one rather impressive opening track, you can read more about on the Cuineiform Records Bandcamp page, the album comes out on May 28th, more if and when we get it and if the rest of it is a good as the first track promises 

And while we’re daqncing arouns Cuneiforms archtecture,, they jsur re-issued some rather tasty progressive improv from Alan Gowen & Hugh Hopper with Nigel Morris


3: Liars – Just listened to the new Liars thing seven or eight times, loved everything they’ve done in the past andreally do want ot like this and it is slowly winning me over, Sekwar, taken from the forthcoming Liars album ‘The Apple Drop’, released by Mute​ on August 6th

4. Ohyun and Matt Evans have something that will peck at your head, on days when your head is in the right place it sounds wonderful, it doesn’t everyday of course, some days you just want to yell at them to shut the flip up and stop pecking, but on days when you can get to their zone, it sounds wonderful. Apparently Godless is experimental rap producer Ohyung and drummer Matt Evans,. Apparently Godless is a list of demands, a joke, is never returning to the normal, question is could we return even if we wanted to? Apparently Godless are making “dystopic noise bangers provoked by lockdown, death and the continued failures of the racist capitalist system”. Doesn’t sound like a joke to these ears, peck away, here’s the Bandcamp.  


5: Paranoid London, ‘State Of That’, the fifth musical thing in a no particular order thing, something that’s out now via the ususal digital and streaming services A track taken from the EP ‘Annihilate The World & Start All Over EP’ that we’re told is released on vinyl and digital on 28th May 2021. “Paranoid London’s 303 broke in lockdown & they couldn’t find anybody that would repair it, so they got on & made the new EP without any trademark Acid tracks. The 4 EP tracks range from Liaisons Dangereuses inspired white noise percussion to banging sine wave techno, euphoric festival destroyers, to deep warped k-hole house, featuring a vocal contribution from Chicago’s Paris Brightledge”.

And while we’re here, The just posted fourth installment of Miguel Mendez‘ ‘Videodemos Sessions’ You can find a pa6 what you want download of the song or session or track or whatever you wish to call it here

More of this in a few days we expect…..

or maybe one more now? Why not, there;s always one more peice of music to share

“OH NO,” featuring Susanne Sachsse, is taken from Xiu Xiu‘s new album of duets, OH NO, out now.

and that really is it for today, more of this in a few days I imagine, and hey….

…if you do feel like making a small donation – We bring all this art, music and underculture to you for free, we really don’t want to clutter up our pages with annoying adverts, no one wants that, but it does take up a lot of time, hours and hours of time. If you should feel like supporting Organ/Cultivate (for it is one in the same) by making a small donation to help keep all this flowing that would be delightful, thank you.

Donate Button

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s